How I Moisturize My Twists & Minimize Frizz

12 Feb

The main reason I like to wear twists and mini twists is, it’s an easy way for me to keep my hair moisturized. I find that when I wear my hair in out styles during the colder months my hair doesn’t retain any moisture, twist give me the opportunity to give my hair a break and keep my hair well moisturized especially my ends. What I do is  really nothing major, no special products or anything but I do have a trick I use to help to keep the frizz at a minimum.

First I like to spray my hair with my water and aloe vera juice concentrating on my ends then slightly dampen the length of my hair and scalp.

Next I take a water based moisturizer or leave-in into my palms and literally squeeze it into my twists, I like to squeeze the product into my twists versus smoothing it onto the twists because that creates frizz.

Then I seal my scalp,ends and twists with castor oil, JBCO or my oil mix or I seal my twists with my homemade shea butter & oil mix.

That’s it, that’s my simple 3-step regimen to keeping my twists and ends moisturized and keeping my frizz at a minimum. This 3-step method I use is similar to the L.O.C method, a great method I use to moisturize and seal your hair. The products depend on your hair type, needs, and preferences.  I like to use heavy butters, creams, and oils on my hair because it’s so thick and always thirsty especially in this cold dry weather. And I don’t worry about the water and water based products shrinking my hair up, I just wrap my twists as I were to if  my hair was straightened or relaxed and the next day I still have my length, you can pin your twists down or stretch them in a ponytail but I don’t mind shrinkage so some nights I skip the whole wrapping/stretching thing.

Mini Twists Day 1

Mini Twists Day 1

Another close up of the minis (before retwisting)

Another close up of the minis (before retwisting)

Mini twists 2 wks in

Mini twists 2 wks in

Days before I retwisted them still not much frizz just puffy roots

Days before I retwisted them still not much frizz just puffy roots

I used this method on my loose twists I done on dry hair

I used this method on my loose twists I done on dry hair

Until next time

Thanx for Stopping by

Peace & Blessings & Happy Hair Growing 🙂

Leave a Reply

