Protective Style Challenge Check- In months 3 & 4

11 Feb

           Hey Ya’ll Happy New Year!  Happy Black History Month! I hope everyone had a happy and safe holiday season. Lol It’s been a while since I last posted, I’ve been writing but not posting (LAZY!) but I’m back starting off with an update. 🙂

Time has really been flying I’m already 4 months into my protective style challenge with Deb from KinkyNappyHappy on YouTube. I haven’t done an update since I think early December smh. I’ve tried a few styles and products since.  

The weekend of Christmas I took my mini twists out and I’ve confirmed what I already suspected after wearing my box braids  for almost 3 months; if  I keep my hair in twists or braids for 6 weeks or longer my hair starts to lock in the back and crown areas. Thankfully the locking didn’t cause me any problems or breakage when taking my mini twists out. I think me keeping my hair moisturized throughout the 8 weeks they were in helped me with being able to work through the parts of my hair that had locked without it breaking because my hair wasn’t dry and crispy. It took me a course of 2 days to remove my twists smh.

I wore my hair in a cinnabun for two days, this was my first time trying this style I really liked it. On the second day I finger detangled and removed as much shed hair as I could then followed with my regular regimen. I wore the cinnabun just about every day until my birthday.

My birthday was on the 8th of January, so you know I had to “Jazz it up” a bit, which was January’s theme for the challenge. Jazz it up means to add some accessories, makeup or even a funky updo style to your looks for the month. I don’t have many accessories although I did wear a cute headband on NYE with the cinnabun, and I wore a little makeup on two occasions. I tried a couple new products too, flaxseed gel and Original Moxie’s Oasis gel reviews coming soon. I’ve been doing a pretty good job of keeping my hair moisturized and keeping my ends protected. We have 2 months left of this challenge and I plan on sticking it out until the end. I have a few styles I want to try before the challenge ends and I also plan on lightening my hair again so stay tuned for that!

Mini twist out

Mini twist out


The cinnanbun

The cinnanbun


Birthday Look #1

Birthday Look #2

Birthday Look #2

 

Until next time Thanx for stopping by

Peace & Blessings and Have a happy HHJ!

Ambee

 

2 Responses to “Protective Style Challenge Check- In months 3 & 4”

  1. kinkycurlyliebe February 11, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Cute protective styles! Especially birthday look #2 :]

Leave a Reply

