Product Review: Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream

15 Sep

Cantu has created a line just for us naturals! I’ve used Cantu Shea Butter leave-in as a styler and was pretty pleased with the results. So when I saw, on Youtube *Of Course* I had to go out and buy it. And I’m glad I did this stuff is BOMB!

Description: Coconut curling cream will define, condition and add manageability to your curls, leaving them soft, shiny and deeply moisturized.

Directions: Smooth onto damp hair section by section from the root down the hair shaft. Do not rinse out. Can be used on dry hair to enhance curls.

Ingredients: Water, Canola oil, Glycerin, Cetearyl alcohol/Ceteareth-20, Fragrance, Cetearyl alcohol/Ceteth-20, Shea Butter, Glycol Strerate,Petrolatum, Aloe Vera Leaf Juice,Coconut oil, Jojoba seed oil, Soybean oil, Avocado oil, Sweet Almond oil, Mango seed butter, Olive fruit oil, Macadamia seed oil, Neem seed oil, Carrot seed oil, Argan kernal oil, Silk amino acids, Honeysuckle flower extract, Sea kelp extract, Sage leaf extract, Grape seed extract, Nettle extract, PEG-75, Polyquaternuim-10, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin. NO MINERAL OIL, SULFATES, PARABENS, SILICONE, PHTHALATES, GLUTEN, PARAFFIN, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, PABA,OR DEA.

MY EXPERIENCE: I’ve been using Cantu’s coconut curling cream for the past month now and I absolutely love it! The smell is a pleasant coconut scent, not overwhelming like some products that contain artificial coconut fragrance and it lingers (for those who like to smell their products in their hair). The consistency is creamy, smooth, and thick. No need to apply a lot because goes a long way.

I’ve used this product to achieve many hairstyles in the past month and even used it on my Son’s curls and coils. Each time I use this product the results are nice. I’ve tried it on wet, damp and dry hair, and each time my hair felt moisturized and soft. It gives good definition and a nice hold. I used the L.O.C method when I apply I the product and each time I get boucey, shiny, and very defined hair. I always get between second and third day hair but I think once I master stretching my braid/twists outs I could get up to five or six day hair.

FINAL VERDICT: This is a HIT! THE BOMB.COM and was only 6 or 7 dollars at my local Walmart. It has good nurishing  ingredients even though I was shocked to see petrolatum as the ninth ingredient. It  that doesn’t leave my hair feeling greasy or weighted down and I haven’t experienced much buildup when used repeatedly in between washes. When I use this product using the L.O.C method the results are just AMAZING! You definitely get bang for your buck being that you get 12ozs of product for under $10 and a little goes a long way so you won’t go through it super fast. A major plus is I can use it in my Son’s hair,who also likes the smell. Cantu really did their thing with this product in my opinion and I will definitely be checking out the rest of their natural line. I think the curling cream has become a staple for me. I give this product a 5-star rating!

If you’re looking for a styler with good ingredients that’s inexpensive and available locally you should give this a try I think you just might like it! 🙂

WHERE TO FIND THESE PRODUCTS: Walmart, Target, Walgreens, & Family Dollar (I haven’t seen it at my local one yet)

Price: $6-8 for a 12oz jar

Disclaimer: This product was purchased by me with my own money.

Curls are popping!

Braid out

Front view of braid out

2nd day hair

 

Leave a Reply

