So the Braids are Out!

1 Aug

I was so happy when I took the last braid down *Excuse the build-up*

My braids had been in a little over two months  I did a few styles,which OF COURSE I forgot to take pics of.   Mostly I just kept it simple and wore them down with a side part. I kept up my moisture regimen of  spritzing my braids with water daily, sealing and applying my JBCO for the most part.

A few weeks ago I saw a video by a Youtuber named 007newnew and she used an AVC spritz to cleanse her scalp while her hair were in mini twists.  I thought HEY I’ll try that since I have braids! So I grabbed my spray bottle and filled it with water and put in 2 caps of apple cider vinegar, sprayed my scalp and let it sit about 5 mins. After letting it sit I hopped in the shower and co-washed with Tressemes Moisture Rich Conditioner. Once out the shower I applied my leave-in (Cantu) and sealed it with Olive oil. When my roots dried my hair felt softer and clean…..S/O to 007newnew for that tip I will be incorporating that into my regimen when fit!

A few days later I rebraided the front of my hair to remove build-up and to freshen my braids up for my trip to North Carolina. My hair has grown so much since installing them so as soon I got home the first chance I got they were coming out!  Although my braids weren’t too tight I could tell that my scalp was ready for a break my, I could feel my hair starting to stress in some areas.  

Once I did take them out my hair felt really soft, doesn’t feel dry at all! i think the aloe vera juice and water mix may have contributed to that, I will be further testing out the mix on my natural hair and I’ll let you all know my final thoughts.

Over all I think the Crown & Glory method is a great and cute way to protective style. It helped me retain length, keep my hair moisturized and was free for have to style my hair for two months.  If you are looking to grow your hair out, retain your length or gain thickness I highly recommend you try the Crown and Glory method!

I’ll be doing a protein treatment followed by a Deep Condition and trying out some of the new products I’ve recently bought , be back with details!

Thanks for stopping by until next time

Peace & Blessings ~ Have a Happy HHJ~

2 Responses to “So the Braids are Out!”

  1. Nikki CEO of Hair 180• August 21, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    Very informative, simple and to the point! Glad to be on board with this Natural Hair Journey We have chosen to embark on. Peace & Blessings

    • ambeescurls August 21, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      Glad you liked the post, thanx for stopping by! Yes I am so happy to have started my journey I’ve learned so much about hair and myself along the way. Peace & Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

