Crown & Glory Method

13 Jun

 

    ImageAbout a month or so ago I came across a video on the Crown & Glory Method and I decided I would be giving it a try this summer and probably continue throughout the rest of the year.

Some of you may already be familiar with this method, but the main purpose of the Crown & Glory Method is to retain length and thickness. You’re basically using extensions such as cornrows, individual braids, twists, etc. to protective style. You keep your braids/twists in for 2-3 months at a time and keep your scalp and braids moisturized. Rebraid or twist the braids/twists around the outer perimeter as needed to keep your braids/twists looking fresh and to prevent build-up. 

THAT PRETTY MUCH SUMS IT UP!

Here are a few tips for the Crown & Glory Method:

  •  Keep your scalp & braids/twists moisturized 
  •  Try to minimize styling and pulling for 1-2 weeks
  •  Make sure braids/twists aren’t too tight
  •  Do not try to braids/twists all your edges
  •  Make sure your braids/twists aren’t too heavy
  •  Make sure your braids/twists aren’t too small
  •  Make sure the parting isn’t too small, so hair can have room to grow
  •  Sleep on a satin case or use a satin scarf
  •  You can wash or co-wash your braids/twists
  •  Use a little Witch Hazel and hot water to remove build-up from your scalp

The Crown & Glory Method seems to be a great way to protective style. Extensions braids/twists can last for months and doesn’t require much maintenance. If you’re looking to give your hair a break for or trying to retain your length, try incorporating the Crown & Glory Method into your regimen. I think you’ll really benefit from it!

Thanx for stopping by until next time Peace & Blessing ~HHJ~

6 Responses to “Crown & Glory Method”

  1. sinnaone1 July 1, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    I’m so glad to have seen this post, because I feel that I’m at a standstill with my hair I big chopped 1year and a week ago, my hair is at that in between stage and the most frustrating part is my hair grows in different lengths all over so like in the back part of it touch my neck and other parts is like a twa then the front touch the bridge of my nose while the sides touch the middle of my ear or the top of it. I guess I should be happy with considering I did start with absolutely nothing lol, but this method is worth a try, I have very coily 4a,b hair and frizz likes to be my friend( ugh!) living in Arizona is hard to keep it constantly moisturize any suggestions? Thanks for your time.

    • ambeescurls July 4, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by!
      It’s HELLA hot here in Michigan so I know what ya going through. Moisturizing daily, sometimes twice a day using water and sealing it with an oil is what works for me. The humidity and Sun will suck up whatever moisture your hair strands don’t soak up from the products, so there’s no other way than to just moisture when needed, using water or water based product & sealing.
      The Crown & glory Method is definitely worth a try! You’re going to see results if you do it properly and be patient. I’m a HUGE believer in protective styles helping retain length, and since you’re in your awarkward stage this method will keep you mind off your length, then before you know it that stage will be over.So If you decide to try it out come back and let me know. I’m going to do an update on my braids in a fews days.
      Hope this helps.
      P.S Don’t focus on length your hair is and will grow, focus on the HEALTH of your hair and enjoy your journey.:)
      Once again thanks for stopping by.
      Peace & Blessing ~HHJ~

  2. Johng97 August 15, 2014 at 3:00 am #

    I conceive this website has got some rattling superb info for everyone. Dealing with network executives is like being nibbled to death by ducks. by Eric Sevareid. edfkaekefkae

    • ambeescurls August 15, 2014 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you I’m glad you found my blog to be helpful for you 😊 @johng97

  3. Johnd514 August 15, 2014 at 3:02 am #

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100 positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks dgdcegdcfcbd

    • ambeescurls August 15, 2014 at 9:44 am #

      Hi, no actually I havent spent any money to start a blog on WordPress all you have to do is make an account, set your theme and stuff and start posting and that’s it. No money needed @johnd514

Leave a Reply

